How to Minimize Windows Live Messenger to System Tray in Windows 7

img_33742_microsoft-windows-live-logo_450x360Follow these simple instructions.

  1. Quit Windows Live Messenger
  2. Find Windows Live Messenger in the Start menu:

    All Programs –> Windows Live Messenger

    Alternatively, you can locate the following files from Windows Explorer:
    In a 64-bit Windows 7:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Windows Live\Messenger\msnmsgr.exe

    In a 32-bit Windows 7:
    C:\Program Files\Windows Live\Messenger\msnmsgr.exe

  3. Right click on it and click on Properties
  4. Go to the Compatibility tab
  5. Click on “Run this program in compatibility mode for:”
  6. Select Windows Vista
  7. Click on Ok and start Windows Live Messenger.

Windows Live Messenger should now minimize to the System Tray in Windows 7.


Published in: on September 16, 2009 at 8:21 pm  Comments (23)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://blackbeltreview.wordpress.com/2009/09/16/how-to-minimize-windows-live-messenger-to-system-tray-in-windows-7/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

23 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hey, I found your blog in a new directory of blogs. I dont know how your blog came up, must have been a typo, anyway cool blog, I bookmarked you. 🙂 🙂

  2. Generally I do not post on blogs, but I would like to say that this post really forced me to do so, Excellent post!

  3. Oh! Thank for nice post about How to minimize Windows Live Messenger to System Tray in Windows 7. If you want share more about this topic, you can read it at http://forum.techwoo.com/#2079_how_to_minimize_windows_live_messenger_to_system_tray_in_windows

  4. I just book marked your blog on Digg and StumbleUpon.I enjoy reading your commentaries.

  5. It is very interesting for me to read this blog. Thanks for it. I like such themes and everything that is connected to this matter. I definitely want to read more soon.

    Avril Swenson

  6. It is certainly interesting for me to read the post. Thank you for it. I like such topics and anything that is connected to this matter. I would like to read more soon.

    Julia Kuree

  7. Cool text. Keep posting that way.

    Kate Simpson

  8. Nice post and very well written. Thanks for this!

  9. Rather nice blog you’ve got here. Thanx for it. I like such topics and everything connected to this matter. I definitely want to read a bit more soon.

    Hilary Hakkinen

  10. You certainly have some agreeable opinions and views. Your blog provides a fresh look at the subject.

  11. Very Interesting Post! Thank You For The Blog!

  12. Pretty interesting blog you’ve got here. Thanks for it. I like such themes and everything that is connected to them. I would like to read more on that blog soon.

    Julia Simpson

  13. Very informative post. Thanks for taking the time to share your view with us.

  14. Very informative post. Thanks for taking the time to share your view with us.

  15. I just bookmarked your blog on Digg and StumbleUpon. I enjoy reading your commentaries.

  16. It was very interesting for me to read this post. Thanx for it. I like such topics and anything connected to them. I definitely want to read a bit more on that blog soon.

    Avril Hakkinen

  17. I’ve been visiting your blog for a while now and I always find a gem in your new posts. Thanks for sharing.

  18. I’ve been visiting your blog for a while now and I always find a gem in your new posts. Thanks for sharing.

  19. Awesome Blog. I add this Blog to my bookmarks.

  20. You certainly deserve a round of applause for your post and more specifically, your blog in general. Very high quality material

  21. Very informative post. Thanks for taking the time to share your view with us.

  22. Hey there, You have done an excellent job. I will definitely digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I am sure they will be benefited from this website.

  23. Well written post. I really appreciate your writing skills. Its express great information. You have made really a great job by sharing this post with us. Keep writing. Thank you and best of luck.


Leave a Reply

