Tips for taking your laptop on vacation

Ready for vacation? Let’s check out the list of items you’re ready to pack:

Swimsuit, shorts, t-shirts, sun block, Edmonton Oiler visor, paperback copy of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, laptop computer.

Uh, laptop? You bet.

25% Off CouponOur addiction of being Internet-connected means many of us bring a laptop on summer vacation. The popularity and low price of small, trendy Netbook computers have found their way into the vacation suitcase but if you really want everything to work properly, a bit of pre-vacation planning is in order. Done right, you can keep up with your office business and clients who will never know you are wearing only a Speedo and are answering their email while a bikini-clad waitress places a fresh Bud Light Lime in front of you. So, let’s review:

Internet connectivity; Let’s face it, a personal computer is not much good unless it is connected to the Internet, so knowing where you can “connect” is Rule # 1. Therefore, before you head out, Bing or Google “free Wi-Fi” and specify the city or town you are heading to. It will list the various Starbucks, Second Cup and others who offer free ‘Net connectivity. Cut the search results out and paste it into a Word document you save on the laptop. Be thorough and select several hot spots. Remember to keep in the spirit of the arrangement by buying a coffee while you hang around and tap away in your Facebook account.

Pack NO critical data: Always assume the worst: That your laptop is going to be lost or damaged when you decide to use it as a leveling wedge for your tent trailer. So, other than copies of your iTunes or Zune music, keep very little important data on the local hard drive. This means all of your email should be Web based – as opposed to using Microsoft Outlook – and all of your documents should be stored in the “cloud.” Google Docs offer plenty of free space and Microsoft’s Skydrive provides for 25 (free) GB of storage space. If you must use Outlook, make sure you have a dedicated SMTP server to send email. For example, if your main email account is with Shaw Cable, the hotel you are staying at may not allow access to the outgoing Shaw email server; meaning you can receive email fine but you will be unable to send email. In Shaw’s case (and like most other ISP’s) you can always access a Web based version of your email.

If you DO have to pack some important files to work on, consider using a great little (free) application called Dropbox (www.getdropbox.com) that lets you synchronize files among three computers (EG: Home, office and laptop). Again, the message is there is more than one updated copy of the files you work on and it is a web-based, “cloud” application.

Use Remote access: If you DO need to get to your office data or your home personal computer, get familiar with the Remote Desktop Connection in your Windows XP or Vista Accessories folder. At the very least you can access the company server and from there you can RDC to your office computer. Other options like Go to My PC from Citrix allow you access any computer through any firewall, provided you set it up first. Go to the Micsoft.com website and download a great little (free) tool called The Windows Server 2003 Administration Tools Pack (if you have a Win XP laptop) or the Microsoft Remote Server Administration Tools if you’re running Windows Vista with Service Pack 1 (SP1). This way, you can set up all your remote connections beforehand and get single click access to the home, office or other necessary PC’s. By the way, make sure your laptop is password protected. You don’t want junior accessing the corporate server during your afternoon snooze.

Other: Many new portables don’t ship with an old style telephone modem anymore so you may want to include a PC card modem. You will be thankful of this when you realize the cabin you rented does not have hi speed or satellite Internet access. Alternatively, you can pick up a Rogers 3.5G Rocket Stick – ZTE MF636 USB Modem for $175 per month sans plan. This USB combo modem and memory storage device that gives you email and internet access on your laptop and lets you store up to 4GB of data. Meanwhile, Telus is pitching its Sierra Wireless USB 598 Mobile High Speed Internet Key for $50/month on a 1 year contract.

Make sure you bring a couple of sets of headphones. Here, I recommend the Bose Mobile In-ear headset which is really made for your mobile phone but also fits your PC, BlackBerry and iPod. It’s pricey at $159 but it provides the absolute best quality sound and you can adjust the in-ear fit with the three, soft contoured tips they supply. This device works best with an iPhone that lets you take calls and switch back to your music with a single touch ease.

Furthermore, the headphones are loose enough that you can always hear the waitress ask if you’d like a coupla more Bud Light Limes.

Published in: on August 3, 2009 at 4:05 am  Comments (80)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://blackbeltreview.wordpress.com/2009/08/03/tips-for-taking-your-laptop-on-vacation/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

80 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. […] Tips for taking your laptop on vacation « Black Belt Review […]

  2. Hello, great article, and great site you have here!
    What is this template you use? Is it custom made?
    If custom made can you please give me the email of the guy who customized it for you?
    I would love to have him/her do one for me also!

    Thanks!

    You can read my latest blog post at: http://unr-lsd-psytrance.info

  3. As a Newbie, I am always searching online for articles that can help me. Thank you

  4. I myself most usually don’t write on Blogs however your blog forced me to, beautiful writing…. just awesome!! The content are different but your Blog and My Free Credit Score Blog are definitely both the most favorable I’ve read to this date. Keep up the good work!!

  5. Great list!

  6. im hungry for new ideas to visit. now i found yours, i will surely add it on my list. definitely i will follow on your post.

  7. Thank you for your post, and i deem it helps me a lot.

  8. Nice blog adding this to my twitter now

  9. Just found this great website!

  10. Glad I found your article on yahoo when I was surfing the web. Good STUFF!

  11. Great share! Keep going!

  12. Hey, could I quote some of the information from this blog if I reference you with a link back to your site? See ya Send via Iphone

  13. You made various fine points there. I did a search on the theme and found mainly persons will consent with your blog.

  14. hello, good post.

  15. Hey very nice website!! I will bookmark your site …

  16. Thanks for the share of all that info.

  17. I think your blog is epic.Sent on my BlackBerry® from Vodafone

  18. Hey webmaster, good day. Totally Great work. You have gained a new fan. Please continue this awesome work!

  19. Nice Share.

  20. Ciao. Fantastic job. I did not expect this on a friday night. This is a cool story. Thanks!

  21. Glorious weblog! I actually love how it’s simple on my eyes in addition to the details are properly written. I am wondering how I may be notified every time a brand new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which must do the trick! Have a nice day!

  22. I respect your work , regards for all the good posts .

  23. I genuinely loved this article. We (as being a neighborhood), appreciate it. I own a very comparable weblog on this subject. Do you thoughts if I website link to this posting on my web website?

  24. Merely wanna remark on few general things, The website design is perfect, the content material is really good : D.

  25. as I website possessor I believe the subject matter here is rattling wonderful, regards for your efforts.

  26. Thank you for give very nice informations. Your blog is coolI am impressed by the information that you have on this blog. It shows how well you understand this subject. Bookmarked this page, will come back for more. You, my friend, ROCK! I found just the information I already searched everywhere and just couldn’t find. What a perfect site. Like this website your website is one of my new favs.I like this site shown and it has given me some sort of desire to succeed for some reason, so thanks

  27. Thank you for sharing this blog with us. its always nice to read good blogs like this. keep up the good work and i will definitely read more of your post.

  28. Ne’er knew this, thankyou for letting me know.

  29. Very well written article.

  30. This is most different to see a properly thought out blog like this you have engaging stuff , I’ll come back for updates

  31. Hey – nice blog, just looking around some blogs, seems a pretty nice platform You Are using. I’m currently using Drupal for a few of my sites but looking to change one of them over to a platform very much the same to yours as a trial run. Anything in particular you would recommend about it?

  32. Actual excellent info right here, you recognize what you’re talking about.

  33. I usually don’t normally post on many another Blogs, yet I just has to say thank you¡­ keep up the amazing work.

  34. Interesting post reminds me of another gem.

  35. What a great site and informative posts, thanks!

  36. Great blog article!

  37. I’ve seen this page to be exceptionally insightful. Thank you for creating it.

  38. Interesting point of view. Thanks for the post.

  39. Fantastic post full of helpful suggestions!

    Kevin Frankish

  40. An individual I work with visits your blog quite often and suggested it to me to read too. The writing style is excellent and also the content is relevant. Thanks for the insight you present the readers!

  41. I agree with your thoughts here and I really love your blog! I’ve bookmarked it so that I can come back & read more in the future.

  42. After searching this topic the past couple days I came across your site an wanted to say that I like the effort. I’m hoping to read more of this subject in the future. Good Work!

  43. Really cool blog, many thanks for a cool article and Happy new year! Let 2011 be a good one for you 🙂

  44. Pretty insightfull post. Never thought that it was this uncomplicated after all. I have spent a good deal of my time looking for someone to explain this topic clearly and you’re the only person that ever did that. Thanks a lot! Keep it up!

  45. Very useful article.

  46. Thank’s for This Nice Read!! We can never have too much fresh content.

  47. It is obvious that when running a business the amount of function involved is significantly more compared to one would anticipate working as a staff.

  48. Simply wished to say, I seriously enjoy your work on this blog and the quality articles you wrote. These type of article tend to be what keeps me going through the day time. I detected this post right after a great companion of my very own advised it to me. I do a little blogging and site-building personally and I am always thankful to see others giving high quality info towards community. I will surely be following and have bookmarked your page to my facebook account for others to view

  49. Good post, it’s real awesome. I did a search on the issue and found a good number of people will consent with your blog. Thank’s for you recommend.

  50. Generally I do not make comments on blogs, but I want to mention that this post really forced me to do so. Really nice post!

  51. After studying a few of the blog posts on your website now, and I truly like your way of blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back soon. Pls check out my web site as well and let me know what you think.

  52. Its astounding, seeking in the time and work you place into your weblog and detailed specifics you furnish. I’ll bookmark your web site and pay a visit to it weekly for the new posts.

  53. Heard about this site from my friend. He pointed me here and told me I’d find what I need. He was right! I got all the questions I had, answered. Didn’t even take long to find it. Love the fact that you made it so easy for people like me.

  54. I myself usually don’t comment in Blogs, however your Blog forced me to, beautiful writing.. simply unbelievable!! Keep up the good work!!

  55. Thanks. Looking forward to your next blog post.

  56. Interesting post. Do you have a Facebook page I can join? I have a question about another page of yours. I will shoot you a message.

  57. Simply wished to say, I seriously enjoy your work on this blog and the quality articles you wrote. These type of article tend to be what keeps me going through the day time. I detected this post right after a great companion of my very own advised it to me. I do a little blogging and site-building personally and I am always thankful to see others giving high quality info towards community. I will surely be following and have bookmarked your page to my facebook account for others to view

  58. Hi there, You’ve done a fantastic job. I’ll definitely digg it and individually suggest to my friends. I’m sure they will be benefited from this web site.

  59. You…are…my…hero!!! I cant believe something like this exists on the internet! Its so true, so honest, and more than that you dont sound like an idiot! Finally, someone who knows how to talk about a subject without sounding like a kid who didnt get that bike he wanted for Christmas

  60. Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wished to say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. After all I’ll be subscribing to your rss feed and I hope you write again soon!

  61. I have to show my admiration for your kindness supporting people who should have help on that issue. Your real dedication to passing the solution throughout turned out to be rather informative and have in most cases enabled men and women just like me to reach their objectives. Your own insightful help signifies this much to me and far more to my mates. Thank you; from all of us.

  62. Great site to visit on a rainy day

  63. It’s difficult to find experienced people on this area, but you appear to be you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

  64. I found your site being bookmarked in one of the top social sites. I’m glad I visited it. Interesting articles you have here.

  65. Just wanted to say thnx for a great site and have a super cool 2011.

  66. At last I found what I was looking for 😉

  67. I stumbled upon your blog and found it very informative. Good story once again. Keep up the excellent work.

  68. couldn’t have said it better! Well done.. take care

  69. Hello! I just found your blog via Google. What a great blog you have! I appreciate it very much! Now you got this fantastic blog, why not turn it into income? Thank you for supplying such priceless service to the entire internet landscape!

  70. Thanks for your great article! It has been extremely helpful. I wish that you will continue sharing your wisdom with us.

  71. Hi, it’s like your blog content, glad to make friends with you

  72. Yes great..thank you. information I was very pleased to find this web-site.I wanted to thanks for your time for this wonderful read!! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you blog post.

  73. This is an excellent post, I am delighted, I stumbled onto it

  74. Thanks for this amazing post!

  75. I saw this really fantastic post today.Your blog post is very cogent and makes a number of great points.

  76. whoah this blog is magnificent i love reading your articles. Keep up the great work! You know, many people are looking around for this information, you can help them greatly.

  77. This was my first time to your site. I have to make a note of this site. Thank you one more time!! This site is the best, I really get a kick out of stuff like this.

  78. Good article, I like your blog

  79. Attractive section of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to assert that I get actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Anyway I’ll be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently fast.


Leave a Reply

